Sillage

pic

I remember the day like it was yesterday.

It was a beautiful evening. The week long storm had washed every sidewalk and gutter clean and a tincture of freshness still lingered in the air despite the traffic fumes. The vibrancy of the city had bounced back in the instant the clouds cleared and already the parks were a hum of activity.

We had met after work. I remember feeling happy to have you with me for the rest of the evening. Just being near you lit me up inside, gave me a serenity I never knew. It wasn’t that you were fireworks and chatter; mostly you were quiet; you were peeved at me for something I had said the previous day. I don’t remember what it was or what we talked about; you hummed and hawed while I made small talk. I recall relating a joke to you and then something happened…..you laughed so much that you snorted! I stared at you momentarily wide eyed, shocked that you would do such a thing and then we both burst out laughing. I was laughing hard, waving my hand in the air, my flag of apology. I didn’t know why, but the waves of laughter kept coming.

With each surge of laughter, we released some of the tension built between us.

What were you offended about?…hmm..I don’t recall;. Guess, it isn’t important.
All I remember is the love beneath, the gentle gaze of our eyes, the feel of your hand in mine, and the sound of your laughter that connected us at that moment, filling me up with utter joy!

Isn’t it strange how some moments move so slowly, you can feel your bones shifting, your mind tumbling. And no matter what happens, for the rest of your life you remember the last detail of that one moment forever…..

There is a word for this..’Sillage’ – a lingering impression of something having passed by; a word for remembering small moments destined to be lost….

 

One thought on “Sillage

  1. Love is eternal….you remember every small incident of the tender moments fondly even after so many years !! Touching, Radhi, as usual, well written….Can get the feeling of raw love !! Keep writing, dear…

    Like

Leave a Reply

