Paraken

I must be crazy.

No, I must be.

For who looks at an unmade dishevelled bed and is convinced it resembles a distraught mind?

Or gets hysterical upon seeing someone sit on a neatly made bed and hollers “That’s a serene mind following a deep meditation session you are sitting on!”

Or watches trees whisper to one another– those commanding, virescent towers– certain it is they who are farming us humans, giving us oxygen until we die and turn into mulch that they can consume.

Is there a word to describe these bizarre thoughts?

Who knows? But hell, I can make one.

‘Parallel’ is derived from the Latin word parallelus and ‘thought’ comes from the Middle English thynken.

Para+ ken. Paraken.

As I do this, I catch sight of myself in the mirror on the wall in the hall.

And I think….What if my understanding of myself is completely erroneous? What if I was in fact the sum of all the different versions of me that exist in the mind of all those who know me????

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.