Letter No 730

Esther Bubley (1921-1998); Vanderpool, Texas.

Dear Sarla

No. 730

Last afternoon a little girl came into our store looking for candy. She couldn’t decide between the pink round candy on a stick (you know that one?) and the white ghost face with blue eyes. She contemplated for a while and then did something strange. Holding on to the counter with both hands, she shifted her body weight, swinging first left and then right a few times. When she saw me looking at her questioningly, she said this swinging helped her see the matter from different viewpoints and she made quicker decisions.

Intrigued by what she had told me, and yet brushing it off as a child’s fantasy, I found myself thinking about her all day.

At night, I lay in bed thinking about you. You have been gone two years now. I have sent a letter a day every day to sarla.heaven @gmail.com. Hope you have had time to read, wherever you are. This letter is to be my last. Not because I have stopped loving you. You know that is impossible. But because I need to move on and it is a hard decision to make.

Anyway, so today morning, I tried something. Instead of the usual coffee-breakfast-shower routine, I ate a hearty breakfast first and then showered. Walking out with only a towel around my middle, I did something I never do. Brushed my hair before getting dressed. Instead of my signature checked shirt and corduroy trousers, I have worn for the past thirty odd years, I opted for a corduroy shirt and plain chinos. I ditched the leather shoes for sneakers and finished off with two cups of black coffee (Ugghh..).

It is a new day.

Forever yours,
Sam

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.